Aussie Millions to Stage Tournament of Champions This Weekend

By Robbie Strazynski
January 17, 2012

Can you believe that it’s been 10 years since the Aussie Millions first debuted on the live poker scene? Over its 10-year history, the Aussie Millions has experienced tremendous growth, with the Main Event having expanded from just over 120 players in its first year to 700+ players in 4 of the last 5 years. Prize money has also skyrocketed, with about AUD 400,000 in 2003 for the winner growing to AUD 2 million, which has been top prize since 2009.

Aussie Millions

Indeed, thousands of recreational players and professionals now flock to the Aussie Millions in Melbourne each January, where beautiful summer weather complements one of the richest poker tournament series in the world. The largest such gathering in the Southern Hemisphere, the Aussie Millions has announced a special Tournament of Champions event to mark their 10th anniversary.

Who’s Playing?

The past 9 Aussie Millions Main Event Champions have been invited to take part in a single table tournament that will award the winner a “lifetime entry” to this year’s and all future Aussie Millions Main Events. Alexander Kostritsyn, the 2008 champion, will not be in attendance, so the 8 tournament entrants will be:

  • Peter Costa (2003)
  • Tony Bloom (2004)
  • Jamil Dia (2005)
  • Lee Nelson (2006)
  • Gus Hansen (2007)
  • Stewart Scott (2009)
  • Tyron Krost (2010)
  • David Gorr (2011)

The winner of the special Tournament of Champions will be able to “cash in” on his prize right away, as this year’s Aussie Millions Main Event is scheduled to begin the following day, Sunday January 22nd. Younger past champions, such as Australia’s Tyron Krost, naturally have the most to potentially win if they’re victorious, as longer expected life spans mean many more potential free annual entries into one of the most lucrative tournaments in all of poker.

Gus Hansen

And the Winner Is…?

The Cardplayer Lifestyle poker blog will go on the record as picking the “Great Dane”, Gus Hansen, to win it all. Check back with us next week on Facebook or Twitter to find out if we’ve guessed right.



Sign up
Written By.

Robbie Strazynski

Robbie founded in 2009. A veteran member of the poker media corps, in addition to writing and video presenting, Robbie has hosted multiple poker podcasts over the years, including Top Pair, the Red Chip Poker Podcast, The Orbit, and the CardsChat Podcast. In 2019, Robbie translated the autobiography of Poker Hall of Famer Eli […]


Join The Discussion

Latest Post


Mixed Game Festival VIII

Pokercoaching All Access

Mixed Game Plaques

WPTGlobal Welcome Offer

Don’t miss our top stories, exclusive offers and giveaways!